Enemies shooting through walls?

Home Forums Bug Reports Enemies shooting through walls?

This topic contains 2 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by  Amon 1 month ago.

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    Posts
  • #158

    Amon
    Participant

    Players,

    There have been two reviews that have mentioned enemies shooting through walls (I believe the specific creature they are referring to is the Beratzu Summoner which shows up in the first few levels). I am trying to fully understand the behavior observed and determine how to reproduce this behavior. Can anyone describe and preferably show a screenshot of a situation where this happens? I am not sure if the players were assuming the creature shot through a wall simply because the attack cam from a dark area that they couldn’t see, or if they are referring to an attack that clips a corner or passes through a gate (these are allowed by design), or if they actually saw an attack coming directly through a solid wall (that should not happen).

    Please describe in as much detail as possible, preferably with screen shots, if you have encountered this problem.

    Thanks for playing!
    Amon

    #313

    Honk
    Participant

    I think I have seen what those guys were reporting. Let‘s assume there is a quadratic room, 8×8 or similar. There is one opening (let‘s say digged in) in the north mid and directly below a created wall. And left of That created wall Another created wall. If you stand in the mentioned opening, you cannot see monsters directly south in the room, because the wall below and left below allows only sight to south east. But the monsters still Hit you and the animation looks like the attack goes straight through the wall below.

    • This reply was modified 1 month ago by  Honk. Reason: Clarified place of opening
    #316

    Amon
    Participant

    I see, it is because the animation goes to the center of your square, but an attacker can hit a target even if they can only see the corner of the target’s square. The rules of line of sight do not always guarantee that someone who sees a target can also be seen by that target.

    Thanks for playing!
    Amon

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)

You must be logged in to reply to this topic.